Skip to content

Jean Bogan Prize

May 20, 2011

Some years ago, I met the gentle Laurie Bogan, who gifted enough money to the Conservatorium of Music in Newcastle to establish a composition award in memory of his wife Jean. After Laurie died several years ago, his bequest to the university made it possible to  continue the awarding of this prize in perpetuity, although there was a hiatus of a few years while the new protocols were worked out.

This year, my piano suite based on the song cycle ‘Letter to a Friend’ was awarded the prize and I’m very happy about it, and very much looking forward to hearing Daniel Herscovitch perform it tonight at the Conservatorium in Newcastle.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Zen permalink
    May 25, 2011 2:50 pm

    Enjoyed your own performance of this work tonight Ian! You’ve always been an inspiration for so many of us, your performance of ravel in G remains my favourite rendition! Ps. What was the name of that composer you mentioned? Congratulations again!

  2. June 3, 2011 12:38 pm

    Oh Zen, you’ll have to remind me! I’ll be back in Melbourne soon and we can have a coffee if you like. Yanov-Yanovsky? Hutcheson? I have many obsessions on the boil at any one time.

Leave a comment